National Museum of Colombo

Also known as the Sri Lanka National Museum, the National Museum of Colombo is one of two museums in Colombo and is the largest museum in Sri Lanka. The museum holds contains a collections of much importance to Sri Lanka such as the regalia of the country, including the throne and crown of the Kandyan Monarchs as well as many other exhibits telling the story of ancient Sri Lanka.

The Lighthouse

It's operated and maintained by the Sri Lanka Ports Authority and is located at Galbokka Point south of the Port of Colombo on the waterfront along the marine drive, in Colombo Fort.The lighthouse was built in 1952 after the Old Colombo Lighthouse was deactivated when its light became obscured by nearby buildings as part of the Colombo Harbor Expansion project. It was opened by Rt Hon D.S. Senanayake the first prime minister of Ceylon. Built on a concrete base which is 12 meters high it has four statues of lions at its base. Due to the panoramic view of the Indian Ocean it offered, it became on city landmark.

Gangaramaya Temple

What was once a swamp adjoining the famous Beira Lake, a landmark in the capital city, is today a vibrant complex comprising the Gangaramaya temple, the ‘seema malaka’ – an assembly hall for monks – in the picturesque Beira Lake. The temple has been in existence for over 120 years having being established by one of the most famous scholar monks, Venerable Hikkaduwe Sri Sumanagala Nayaka Thera.

Old Parliment Building

The Old Parliament Building, is the building that houses the Presidential Secretariat of Sri Lanka. Situated in the Colombo Fort facing the sea, it is in close proximity to the President's House, Colombo. Stately and British, this structure, with a lovely green patch in front, is today referred to as the President's office as the Parliament does not function here anymore.

Independence Memorial Hall

Independence Memorial Hall is a national monument in Sri Lanka built for commemoration of the independence of Sri Lanka from the British rule with the establishment of Dominion of Ceylon on February 4, 1948. It is located at the Independence Square (formally Torrington Square) in the Cinnamon Gardens, Colombo. It also houses the Independence Memorial Museum.